Taking Care of the Harvest

This year the good Lord gave me a bumper crop of grapes. I have champagne, concord  and Merlot grapes. My husband will be making wine from most of the champagne grapes but I made juice from the Merlot and concord grapes.

This years harvest yielded 11.75 gallons of red juice and 18 gallons of champagne juice. We will use fifteen gallons to make the wine and the rest will be used for jelly and gifts.

20161030_17165920161029_160535

The picture on the right is a steam extractor. Pretty simple really but very slow. I spent three days juicing the grapes to remain juice. It is very tasty I must admit but this year I left the champagne grapes on the vine until they began to fall off on their own. Which was late October. Then I spent two days picking and three days juicing. It was well worth the effort.

20161030_171609

We will have juice to share for the holidays and I will mull some of the wine from last years harvest to serve at our get togethers.

The best part of this whole process is the fact that the juice is completely organic and I know exactly what the process was and how clean the area was that was used to can the juice. I love that part!

May you have the merriest of Christmases and Happiest of New Years,

God Bless!

 

Leave a Reply

