Sangria Set Part 1

I was hand painting glassware long before it was popular and actually made a good business of it but all good things must come to an end. Now I paint special pieces for weddings and other special occasions.

I’m going to share with you a step by step project painting a sangria set.

The first thing to do is to choose the piece that you wish to paint. In this series of blog pages I’m going to paint a sangria set. It will have a pitcher and four glasses.

To start, wash the glass thoroughly with dish soap and hot water then dry the piece well.

then decide what you want to paint on the piece, I will be painting a Tuscan theme as the people I’m giving the set to happen to like that.

sangria10sangria11

Here are the supplies you will be using. I prefer the Pebeo® glass glaze to any other glass paint out there. The color is rich yet subtle. The brushes are a #4 shader for the grapes, a #6 shader for the leaves and a #1 liner for the tendrils.

I use a white plate as my palette because I want to see the true color of the paint I’m going to put on my piece.

sangria16sangria8sangria3

 

Now that my glass is clean and dry I will start the painting process.

You can see the paint on the plate and the way that I load my brush. When the brush has been loaded, brush off on the palette to blend the color. Now apply that color to the glass.

sangria17sangria12sangria7

The technique for the grape is a simple turning of the brush keeping the pivot point in the same place and working around that pivot point. Brick-lay the grapes quickly one above the other until you get the desired look you want. Let it dry overnight before you start the next step. You don’t have to do that but if you are a beginner with this it will make it much easier to correct any mistakes you feel you may have made.

If you like what you see follow my blog for all of the latest do it yourself tips and tricks.

Happy Painting!

 

 

Leave a Reply

