Harvesting Grape Leaves

When the leaves come out on the grape vines, it’s time to harvest.

IMG_20160701_155642294_HDRIMG_20160701_155649470_HDRIMG_20160701_155626898_HDR

As you can see in the photo the leaves are sorted into sizes. I use the small ones for salad. They are the most tender. The larges ones are used in stew and soup and the medium leaves are stuffed with lamb and rice and baked in lemon juice. Delish!!!

I put the leaves in gallon sized zip lock bags, suck the air out of the bags and seal them unwashed. I put 100 leaves per bag so I know what I have to work with when I compile a recipe.

Remember,  don’t use the leaves with white fuzz on the back.

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

